tation Act, and the administration of the program of freight assistance and grain storage costs on western feed grains. The name of the ARDA was changed in 1966 (SC 1966, c. 11) to Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA) and the name of the Department was changed under the terms of the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 25) to Department of Forestry and Rural Development.

The Forestry Branch of the Department, in addition to the above functions, carries out economic studies of the forest resources and of the forest industries. Financial assistance is offered to the provinces toward meeting specific forestry needs. The Department conducts forest surveys and provides technical assistance to other agencies of the Federal Government responsible for administration of forest lands, and co-operates with international organizations concerned with forestry in which Canada maintains membership. The Department acts as co-ordinator for the seven-agency Technical Committee for Watershed Research of the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.

The ARDA program of the Department is joined with existing programs of resource management and economic development to provide public assistance in meeting problems of physical, economic and social adjustment in rural areas. It also includes a program of soil and water conservation aimed at increasing the productivity of basic rural resources. Through a central and developing information program, the Department seeks to promote public understanding of the value of the forest resources and, in co-operation with the provinces, of the work and purpose of the ARDA program.

The Department administers the Fund for Rural Economic Development Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 41), which provides for the establishment of a fund not exceeding \$50,000,000 for the economic and social development of special rural development areas. Under this Act the Minister of Forestry and Rural Development may, on the recommendation of the Advisory Board and with the approval of the Governor in Council, enter into an agreement with any province for the joint undertaking of a rural development program in a special rural development area, or may contribute to the cost of such a program undertaken by the province. The Advisory Board consists of not more than ten officials of departments or agencies of the Government of Canada, appointed by the Governor in Council.

The Minister of Forestry and Rural Development reports to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.—The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was established in June 1966 under the terms of the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c. 25), superseding the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. In addition to the Financial and Management Services, the Department is divided into four Branches: the Natural and Historic Resources Branch, which administers the National Parks, the National Historic Parks and the National Historic Sites coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government; the Northern Administration Branch, which is responsible for the administration of various federal Acts, territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the Government of the Northwest Territories, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yukon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in those Territories, and for Eskimo affairs; the Indian Affairs Branch, which has the responsibility of assisting the Indians through programs in the field of education, economic development, social welfare and community development so that they may share the rights and responsibilities of citizenship and participate on the basis of equality and opportunity through the full spectrum of Canadian life; and the Canadian Wildlife Service, which conducts research on the fauna of Canada and maintains liaison with other international, national, provincial and private agencies and organizations that deal with wildlife.

The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and the Commissioner of Yukon Territory report to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Minister is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada which is an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Northern Transportation Company Limited. The Advisory Committee on Northern Development acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister. The Deputy Minister is Chairman of the Northern Canada Power Commission.

Department of Industry.—Under the Department of Industry Act (SC 1963, c. 3), the Minister of Industry is responsible for promoting the establishment, growth, efficiency and improvement of manufacturing industries in Canada through the development and implementation of programs to assist manufacturers to adjust to changing market conditions, to help them development lines of production and enter new markets, and to promote greater industrial research and development as well as good design within Canadian industry.

The Department of Industry is also responsible for undertaking research and investigations on an area or regional basis and preparing programs of development for designated areas of high unemployment and slow economic growth.

As a part of these programs, various Federal Govern-

ment incentive measures are administered.

The Department is organized into ten industry branches: Aircraft, Chemicals, Apparel and Textiles, Electrical and Electronics, Food Products, Machinery, Materials, Mechanical Transport, Shipbuilding and Heavy Equipment, and Wood Products (see also Department of Defence Pro-